DOI: 10.25881/20728255_2021_16_3_36

Authors

Navmatulya A.Yu.1, Cikoridze M.Yu.1, Al’muhametova F.R.1, Caregorodcev A.E.1, Bratov O.Z.1, Savchuk S.A.1, Kuznecov A.I.1, Gel’fond V.M.1, Zagryadskih A.S.1, Chernobrivceva V.V.1, Miroshnikov B.I.1, Egorenkov V.V.1, Moiseenko V.M.1, Solov’ev I.A.3

1 Saint-Petersburg clinical scientific and practical center for specialized types of medical care (oncological), Saint-Petersburg

2 S.M. Kirov Military medical academy, St. Petersburg

3 Mariinsky Hospital, St. Petersburg

Abstract

Colorectal сancer is the third leading cause of cancer death in Russia. Upon initial detection of a tumor, synchronous liver metastases are detected in 30–50% of patients. Two-stage liver resection is often the only option for radical surgical treatment of patients with massive metastatic liver disease by preventing postresection liver failure.

Objective: to assess the possibility of ALPPS liver resections in patients with colorectal cancer metastases.

Material and methods. Extended hepatectomy according to the ALPPS was performed in 18 patients with massive bilobar liver lesions and with planned future liver remnants about ≤30%. The average patients’ age was 61.3±8.4 years. The first stage of surgical treatment included complete (n = 13) or partial (n = 5) liver splitting along the falciform ligament up to the inferior vena cava retrohepatic segment with portal vein right branch ligation. The second stage was an extended right-sided hepatectomy.

Results. Duration of the first stage was 171.6±55.5 min, blood loss was 170.9±87.8 ml. The second stage was performed after 58.2±26.7 days. The hypertrophy’s rate was 85.2±8.5%, and the remaining parenchyma volume to the liver total volume ratio increased from 21.06±2.4% to 33.1±2.8%. The second stage’s duration was 213.2±90.2 min, blood loss was 546.4±297.7 ml. Complications developed in 7 patients: acute liver failure (n = 2), biliary fistula (n = 3), common bile duct stricture (n = 1), liver resection edge bleeding (n = 1). 1 patient died in the postoperative period. The disease progression during the year was observed in 10 out of 17 patients (58.8%). The overall 1-year survival rate is 66.6%.

Conclusion. Two-stage liver resection ALPPS allows expanding the radical treatment possibility in patients with initially unresectable or conditionally unresectable colorectal cancer liver metastases.

Keywords: colorectal cancer, liver metastases, liver resection, extended right hepatectomy, ALPPS, acute liver failure.

References

1. Schnitzbauer AA, Lang SA, Goessmann H, et al. Right portal vein ligation combined with in situ splitting induces rapid left lateral liver lobe hypertrophy enabling 2-staged extended right hepatic resection in small-for-size settings. Ann Surg. 2012; 255(3): 405-414. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0b013e31824856f5.

2. Nadalin S, Capobianco I, Li J, et al. Indications and Limits for Associating Liver Partition and Portal Vein Ligation for Staged Hepatectomy (ALPPS). Lessons Learned from 15 Cases at a Single Centre. Zeitschrift Für Gastroenterologie. 2014; 52(01): 35-42. doi: 10.1055/s-0033-1356364.

3. Per Sandström, Bård I Røsok, Ernesto Sparrelid, et al. ALPPS Improves Resectability Compared With Conventional Two-stage Hepatectomy in Patients With Advanced Colorectal Liver Metastasis Results From a Scandinavian Multicenter Randomized Controlled Trial (LIGRO Trial). Ann Surg. 2018; 267(5): 833-840. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000002511.

4. Voskanyan SE, Chuchuyev ES, Artemiyev AI. et al. Associating Liver Partition and Portal vein Ligation for Staged hepatectomy (ALPPS) in focal liver diseases management. Pirogov Russian Journal of Surgery. 2018; 2: 39-44. (In Russ). doi: 10.17116/hirurgia2018239-44.

5. Dokmak S, Belghiti J. Which Limits to the «ALPPS» Approach. Ann Surg. 2012; 256(3): e6. doi: 10.1097/sla.0b013e318265fd64.

6. Chaychenko DV, Nadvigova EA, Vazhenin AV, Privalov AV. Immediate results of the ALPPS procedure in patients with extensive metastatic liver disease. Russian Journal of oncology. 2014; 19(4): 51-52. (In Russ).

7. Skipenko OG, Chardarov NK, Bagmet NN, et al. Associated liver partition and portal vein ligation for staged hepatectomy (ALPPS) — new opportunity in two-stage liver resection in patients with colorectal cancer metastases. Khirurgiia. 2014; 9: 23-29. (In Russ).

8. Kozyrin IA, Ermakov NA, Lyadov VK, Kovalenko ZA. Experience of two-staged liver resection (ALPPS). Pirogov Russian Journal of Surgery. 2014; 12: 24-28. (In Russ).

9. Dimitri A. Raptis, Michael Linecker, Patryk Kambakamba, et al. Defining Benchmark Outcomes for ALPPS. Ann Surg. 2019; 270(5): 835-841. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000003539.

10. Liu Y, Yang Y, Gu S, Tang K. A systematic review and meta-analysis of associating liver partition and portal vein ligation for staged hepatectomy (ALPPS) versus traditional staged hepatectomy. Medicine. 2019; 98(15): e15229. doi: 10.1097/MD.0000000000015229.

11. Pim B. Olthof, Andreas A. Schnitzbauer, Erik Schadde. The HPB controversy of the decade: 2007–2017 — Ten years of ALPPS. Eur J Surg Oncol. 2018; 44(10): 1624-1627. doi: 10.1016/j.ejso.2018.06.005.

For citation

Navmatulya A.Yu., Cikoridze M.Yu., Al’muhametova F.R., Caregorodcev A.E., Bratov O.Z., Savchuk S.A., Kuznecov A.I., Gel’fond V.M., Zagryadskih A.S., Chernobrivceva V.V., Miroshnikov B.I., Egorenkov V.V., Moiseenko V.M., Solov’ev I.A. Two-stage liver resection ALPPS. Bulletin of Pirogov National Medical & Surgical Center. 2021;3(16):36-41. (In Russ.) https://doi.org/10.25881/20728255_2021_16_3_36

DOI: 10.25881/20728255_2021_16_3_36

Авторы

Навматуля А.Ю.1, Цикоридзе М.Ю.1, Альмухаметова Ф.Р.1, Царегородцев А.Е.1, Братов О.З.1, Савчук С.А.1, Кузнецов А.И.1, Гельфонд В.М.1, Загрядских А.С.1, Чернобривцева В.В.1, Мирошников Б.И.1, Егоренков В.В.1, Моисеенко В.М.1, Соловьев И.А.2, 3

1 ГБУЗ «Санкт-Петербургский клинический научно-практический центр специализированных видов медицинской помощи (онкологический)», Санкт-Петербург

2 ФГБВОУ ВО «Военно-медицинская академия им. С.М. Кирова», Санкт-Петербург

3 ГБУЗ «Городская Мариинская больница», Санкт-Петербург

Аннотация

Колоректальный рак является третьей по значимости причиной смерти от рака в России. При первичном выявлении опухоли у 30–50% пациентов выявляются синхронные метастазы в печени. Двухэтапная резекция печени зачастую является единственной возможностью радикального хирургического лечения пациентов с массивным метастатическим поражением печени за счет предотвращения пострезекционной печеночной недостаточности.

Цель: оценить возможность двухэтапных резекций печени по методике ALPPS у больных с метастазами колоректального рака.

Материал и методы. Расширенная гемигепатэктомия по методике ALPPS выполнена 18 больным с массивным билобарным поражением печени и планируемым объемом остающейся паренхимы ≤30%. Средний возраст пациентов — 61,3±8,4 год. Первый этап операции включал в себя полное (n = 13) или частичное (n = 5) расщепление печени вдоль серповидной связки до ретропеченочного сегмента нижней полой вены с пересечением правой ветви воротной вены. Вторым этапом выполнялась расширенная правосторонняя гемигепатэктомия.

Результаты. Длительность первого этапа операции составила 171,6±55,5 мин., кровопотеря — 170,9±87,8 мл. Второй этап выполнялся через 58,2±26,7 сут. Степень гипертрофии составила 85,2±8,5%, а отношение объема остающейся паренхимы к общему объему печени увеличилось с 21,06±2,4% до 33,1±2,8%. Длительность второго этапа — 213,2±90,2 мин., кровопотеря — 546,4±297,7 мл. Осложнения развились у 7 пациентов: острая печеночная недостаточность (n = 2), желчная фистула (n = 3), стриктура холедоха (n = 1), кровотечение из края резекции печени (n = 1). В послеоперационном периоде умер 1 больной. Прогрессирование заболевания в течение года отмечено у 10 из 17 больных (58,8%). Общая 1-годичная выживаемость — 66,6%.

Заключение. Двухэтапная резекция печени по методике ALPPS позволяет расширить возможность радикального лечения у больных с изначально нерезектабельными или условно нерезектабельными метастазами колоректального рака в печени.

Ключевые слова: метастатический колоректальный рак, билобарные метастазы в печени, двухэтапная резекция печени, ALPPS, острая печеночная недостаточность.

Список литературы

1. Schnitzbauer AA, Lang SA, Goessmann H, et al. Right portal vein ligation combined with in situ splitting induces rapid left lateral liver lobe hypertrophy enabling 2-staged extended right hepatic resection in small-for-size settings. Ann Surg. 2012; 255(3): 405-414. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0b013e31824856f5.

2. Nadalin S, Capobianco I, Li J, et al. Indications and Limits for Associating Liver Partition and Portal Vein Ligation for Staged Hepatectomy (ALPPS). Lessons Learned from 15 Cases at a Single Centre. Zeitschrift Für Gastroenterologie. 2014; 52(01): 35-42. doi: 10.1055/s-0033-1356364.

3. Per Sandström, Bård I Røsok, Ernesto Sparrelid, et al. ALPPS Improves Resectability Compared With Conventional Two-stage Hepatectomy in Patients With Advanced Colorectal Liver Metastasis Results From a Scandinavian Multicenter Randomized Controlled Trial (LIGRO Trial). Ann Surg. 2018; 267(5): 833-840. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000002511.

4. Восканян С.Э., Чучуев Е.С., Артемьев А.И. и др. Associating Liver Partition and Portal vein Ligation for Staged hepatectomy (ALPPS) в лечении очаговых образований печени // Хирургия. Журнал им. Н.И. Пирогова. —2018. — №2. — С.39-44. doi: 10.17116/hirurgia2018239-44.

5. Dokmak S, Belghiti J. Which Limits to the «ALPPS» Approach. Ann Surg. 2012; 256(3): e6. doi: 10.1097/sla.0b013e318265fd64.

6. Чайченко Д.В., Надвигова Е.А., Важенин А.В. и др. Непосредственные результаты применения ALPPS-процедуры у пациентов с обширным метастатическим поражением печени // Российский онкологический журнал. — 2014. — 19(4). — С.51-52.

7. Скипенко О.Г., Чардаров Н.К., Багмет Н.Н. и др. ALPPS — новая возможность двухэтапного хирургического лечения больных с метастазами рака толстой кишки // Хирургия. — 2014. — №9. — С. 23-29.

8. Козырин И.А., Ермаков Н.А., Лядов В.К., Коваленко З.А. Опыт двухэтапной резекции печени (ALPPS) // Хирургия. Журнал им. Н.И. Пирогова. — 2014. — №12. — С.24-28.

9. Dimitri A. Raptis, Michael Linecker, Patryk Kambakamba, et al. Defining Benchmark Outcomes for ALPPS. Ann Surg. 2019; 270(5): 835-841. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000003539.

10. Liu Y, Yang Y, Gu S, Tang K. A systematic review and meta-analysis of associating liver partition and portal vein ligation for staged hepatectomy (ALPPS) versus traditional staged hepatectomy. Medicine. 2019; 98(15): e15229. doi: 10.1097/MD.0000000000015229.

11. Pim B. Olthof, Andreas A. Schnitzbauer, Erik Schadde. The HPB controversy of the decade: 2007–2017 — Ten years of ALPPS. Eur J Surg Oncol. 2018; 44(10): 1624-1627. doi: 10.1016/j.ejso.2018.06.005.

Для цитирования

Навматуля А.Ю., Цикоридзе М.Ю., Альмухаметова Ф.Р., Царегородцев А.Е., Братов О.З., Савчук С.А., Кузнецов А.И., Гельфонд В.М., Загрядских А.С., Чернобривцева В.В., Мирошников Б.И., Егоренков В.В., Моисеенко В.М., Соловьев И.А. Двухэтапная резекция печени по методике ALPPS. Вестник НМХЦ им. Н.И. Пирогова. 2021;3(16):36-41. https://doi.org/10.25881/20728255_2021_16_3_36