DOI: 10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.10.43.017

Authors

Churashov S.V., Kulikov A.N., Shevalova T.N.

S.M. Kirov Military medical academy, St. Petersburg

Abstract

The inferior recurrence of retinal detachment with proliferative vitreoretinopathy of grade C «anterior» are big problems of vitreoretinal surgery.

Aim: To analyze functional and anatomical outcomes in inferior recurrence of rhegmatogenous retinal detachment depending on the surgical approach

Methods: Eighty-one eyes of 81 patients (47 males and 34 females with a mean age of 54,8±14,1 years) who demonstrated at least one inferior recurrence of RRD were included in this retrospective study. All patients were categorized as received either circular scleral buckling, pars plana vitrectomy, a combination of circular scleral buckling and pars plana vitrectomy, pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy, or pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy and short-term postoperative perfluorocarbon liquid tamponade. All cases were followed-up until successful retinal reattachment or third recurrence.

Results: After the treatment of first recurrence, the rate of redetachment in a combination of circular scleral buckling and pars plana vitrectomy group was statistically significantly lower than that of pars plana vitrectomy (p = 0.0012), pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy (p = 0.028), and pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy and short-term postoperative perfluorocarbon liquid tamponade (p = 0.047) group. There was no statistically significant difference between a combination of circular scleral buckling and pars plana vitrectomy, pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy, pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy and short-term postoperative perfluorocarbon liquid tamponade groups in the recurrence rate after the treatment of the second recurrence (42 eyes). However, there was a statistically significant (p = 0.016) trend towards a decrease of recurrence rate after pars plana vitrectomy with retinotomy and short-term postoperative perfluorocarbon liquid tamponade. There was no statistically significant improvement of best-corrected visual acuity in either study group (p>0.05) after both first and second recurrence surgery.

Conclusion: The patients with first inferior recurrence of rhegmatogenous retinal detachment may benefit from circular scleral buckling as an adjunct to pars plana vitrectomy. Retinotomy and short-term postoperative perfluorocarbon liquid tamponade in the second recurrence may allow better anatomical outcomes without functional improvement.

Keywords: recurrence of retinal detachment, scleral buckling, retinotomy, pars plana vitrectomy, silicone tamponade, proliferative vitreoretinopathy.

References

1. Shkvorchenko DO, Zakharov VD, Kakunina SA, Belousova EV, Rusanovskaya AV, Norman KS. Comparative estimation of surgical treatment results of rhegmatogenous retinal detachment. Fedorovskiy zhurnal oftal’mologicheskoy khirurgii. 2015; 4: 43–50 (In Russ).

2. Sharma T, Gopal L, Shanmugam MP, Bhende PS, Agrawal R, Badrinath SS. Management of recurrent retinal detachment in silicone oil filled eyes. Retina. 2002; 22(2): 153–157. doi: 10.1097/00006982-200204000-00003.

3. Sheng Y, Sun W, Mo B, Yu YJ, Gu YS, Liu W. Non-buckled vitrectomy for retinal detachment with inferior breaks and proliferative vitreoretinophathy. Int J Ophthalmol. 2012; 5(5): 591–595. doi: 10.3980/j.issn.2222-3959. 2012.05.09.

4. Foster RE, Meyers SM. Recurrent retinal detachment more than 1 year after reattachment. Ophthalmology. 2002; 109: 1821–7. doi: 10.1016/S0161-6420(02)01182-X.

5. Nagpal M, Chaudhary P, Wachasundar S, Eltayib A, Raihan A. Management of recurrent rhegmatogenous retinal detachment. Indian J Ophthalmol. 2018; 66: 1763–1771. doi: 10.4103/ijo.IJO_1212_18.

6. Boscia F, Furino C, Recchimurzo N, Besozzi G, Sborgia G, Sborgia C. Oxane HD vs silicone oil and scleral buckle in retinal detachment with proliferative vitreoretinopathy and inferior retinal breaks. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol. 2008; 246(7): 943–948. doi: 10.1007/s00417-008-0806-7.

7. Wei Y, Wu G, Xu K, Wang J, Zu Z, Wang R. The outcomes of scleral buckling versus revitrectomy for the treatment of recurrent inferior retinal detachment in silicone oil tamponade eyes. Acta Ophthalmologica. 2016; 94(7): 624–628. doi: 10.1111/aos.13037.

8. Kamal AM, Solaiman MD, Sherif A, Dabour MD, FRCS (Edin). Supplemental scleral buckling for inferior retinal detachment in silicone oil-filled eyes. Retina. 2014; 34: 1076–1082. doi: 10.1097/IAE.0000000000000037.

9. Sigler EJ, Randolph JC, Calzada JI., Charles S. Pars plana vitrectomy with medium-term postoperative perfluoro-N-octane for recurrent inferior retinal detachment complicated by advanced proliferative vitreoretinopathy. Retina. 2013; 33(4): 791–797. doi: 10.1097/IAE.0b013e31826a6978.

For citation

Churashov S.V., Kulikov A.N., Shevalova T.N. The functional and anatomical outcomes in inferior recurrence retinal detachment depending on the surgical approach. Bulletin of Pirogov National Medical & Surgical Center. 2021;1(16):99-102. (In Russ.) https://doi.org/10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.10.43.017

DOI: 10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.10.43.017

Авторы

Чурашов С.В., Куликов А.Н., Шевалова Т.Н.

ФГБВОУ ВПО «Военно-медицинская академия им. С.М. Кирова», Санкт-Петербург

Аннотация

«Нижние» рецидивы отслойки сетчатки, осложненные пролиферативной витреоретинопатией стадии С anterior являются сложной проблемой в витреоретинальной хирургии.

Цель: проанализировать функциональные и анатомические результаты «нижних» рецидивов регматогенной отслойки сетчатки в зависимости от хирургического вмешательства.

Методы. Проведен ретроспективный анализ результатов лечения 81 пациента (47 мужчин и 34 женщины со средним возрастом 54,8±14,1 года) с рецидивами отслойки сетчатки с нижними разрывами. Все пациенты были разделены на группы в зависимости от хирургического лечения: круговое экстрасклеральное пломбирование, витрэктомия, витрэктомия с круговым экстрасклеральным пломбированием, витрэктомия с ретинотомией, витрэктомия с ретинотомией и краткосрочной послеоперационной тампонадой перфторорганической жидкостью. Все случаи наблюдались до достижения прилегания сетчатки без последующего рецидива или до третьего рецидива.

Результаты: после хирургического лечения первого рецидива частота повторного рецидива в группе витрэктомия с круговым экстрасклеральным пломбированием была статистически значимо ниже, чем в группах витрэктомия (p = 0,0012), витрэктомия с ретинотомией (p = 0,028) и витрэктомия с ретинотомией и краткосрочной послеоперационной тампонадой перфторорганической жидкостью (p = 0,047). После хирургического лечения второго рецидива (42 глаза) статистически значимой разницы между группами витрэктомия с круговым экстрасклеральным пломбированием, витрэктомия с ретинотомией и витрэктомия с ретинотомией и краткосрочной послеоперационной тампонадой перфторорганической жидкостью по частоте рецидивов не было выявлено. Однако наблюдалась статистически значимая (p = 0,016) тенденция к снижению частоты рецидивов в группе витрэктомия с ретинотомией и краткосрочной послеоперационной тампонадой перфторорганической жидкостью. Статистически значимого улучшения максимально корригированной остроты зрения ни в одной из исследуемых групп не наблюдалось (p>0,05) как после первой, так и после второй операции по поводу рецидива.

Заключение: У пациентов с «нижними» рецидивами отслойки сетчатки дополнительное применение кругового экстрасклерального пломбирования при витрэктомии после первого рецидива отслойки сетчатки, ретинотомия и использование перфторорганической жидкости в качестве краткосрочной послеоперационной тампонады после второго рецидива позволяют достичь лучших анатомических результатов.

Ключевые слова: рецидив отслойки сетчатки, круговое экстрасклеральное пломбирование, ретинотомия, витрэктомия, силиконовая тампонада, пролиферативная витреоретинопатия.

Список литературы

1. Шкворченко Д.О., Захаров В.Д., Какунина С.А., Белоусова Е.В., Русановская А.В., Норман К.С. Сравнительная оценка результатов хирургического лечения регматогенной отслойки сетчатки // Офтальмохирургия. — 2015. — №4. — С. 43–50.

2. Sharma T, Gopal L, Shanmugam MP, Bhende PS, Agrawal R, Badrinath SS. Management of recurrent retinal detachment in silicone oil filled eyes. Retina. 2002; 22(2): 153–157. doi: 10.1097/00006982-200204000-00003.

3. Sheng Y, Sun W, Mo B, Yu YJ, Gu YS, Liu W. Non-buckled vitrectomy for retinal detachment with inferior breaks and proliferative vitreoretinophathy. Int J Ophthalmol. 2012; 5(5): 591–595. doi: 10.3980/j.issn.2222-3959. 2012.05.09.

4. Foster RE, Meyers SM. Recurrent retinal detachment more than 1 year after reattachment. Ophthalmology. 2002; 109: 1821–7. doi: 10.1016/S0161-6420(02)01182-X.

5. Nagpal M, Chaudhary P, Wachasundar S, Eltayib A, Raihan A. Management of recurrent rhegmatogenous retinal detachment. Indian J Ophthalmol. 2018; 66: 1763–1771. doi: 10.4103/ijo.IJO_1212_18.

6. Boscia F, Furino C, Recchimurzo N, Besozzi G, Sborgia G, Sborgia C. Oxane HD vs silicone oil and scleral buckle in retinal detachment with proliferative vitreoretinopathy and inferior retinal breaks. Graefes Arch Clin Exp Ophthalmol. 2008; 246(7): 943–948. doi: 10.1007/s00417-008-0806-7.

7. Wei Y, Wu G, Xu K, Wang J, Zu Z, Wang R. The outcomes of scleral buckling versus revitrectomy for the treatment of recurrent inferior retinal detachment in silicone oil tamponade eyes. Acta Ophthalmologica. 2016; 94(7): 624–628. doi: 10.1111/aos.13037.

8. Kamal AM, Solaiman MD, Sherif A, Dabour MD, FRCS (Edin). Supplemental scleral buckling for inferior retinal detachment in silicone oil-filled eyes. Retina. 2014; 34: 1076–1082. doi: 10.1097/IAE.0000000000000037.

9. Sigler EJ, Randolph JC, Calzada JI., Charles S. Pars plana vitrectomy with medium-term postoperative perfluoro-N-octane for recurrent inferior retinal detachment complicated by advanced proliferative vitreoretinopathy. Retina. 2013; 33(4): 791–797. doi: 10.1097/IAE.0b013e31826a6978.

Для цитирования

Чурашов С.В., Куликов А.Н., Шевалова Т.Н. Функциональные и анатомические исходы лечения «нижних» рецидивов отслоек сетчатки в зависимости от объема хирургического вмешательства. Вестник НМХЦ им. Н.И. Пирогова. 2021;1(16):99-102. https://doi.org/10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.10.43.017