DOI: 10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.55.99.012

Authors

Karpov O.E., Daminov V.D., Novak E.V., Slepnyova N.I.

Pirogov National Medical and Surgical Center, Moscow

Abstract

Introduction: Aphasia, with the impairment of both verbal and non-verbal communication, and other symptoms of stroke causes emotional disorders. There is a range of conventional psychological interventions to improve that; however, they could have a limited value due to the loss of language.

Aim; This study estimates subjective and objective alternations in the emotional state of patients with aphasia after a relaxing session in virtual reality (VR).

Methods: In total, 40 patients during the first post-stroke year were randomized in the study and control group and successfully completed the sudy. The former underwent relaxation in VR for 20 minutes, whereas a conventional relaxation technique was used in the latter. Patients from both groups were tested with visual analogue scale (VAS) for their mood and electroencephalography (EEG) at the beginning, after a 5-minutes rest and after the intervention.

Results: Demographic parameters and VAS score for mood were comparable in both groups, and the latter improved altogether (p<0.042). The EEG analysis revealed a significant increase in the alpha-power (p = 0.003) and low beta-power (p = 0.004) for all patients with a slight dominance in the study group. The relative power of low alpha-rhythm (p = 0.031) grew while that of low and high beta-rhythm decreased. There was a significant rise of the low/high beta-rhythm ration (р = 0.005) in the study group in comparison to the control group.

Discussion: VR relaxation evokes changes in the brain activity comparable with those which have been described after other stress reduction interventions. Further research is required to understand long-term perspectives and the clinical effect.

Keywords: virtual reality, electroencephalography (EEG), depression, aphasia, stress.

References

1. Ashaie S, Hurwitz R, Cherney L. Depression and Subthreshold Depression in Stroke-Related Aphasia. Arch Phys Med Rehabil. 2019; 7:1294–1299.

2. Mitchell A, Sheth B, Gill J, Yadegarfar M, Stubbs B, Yadegarfar M, Meader N. Prevalence and predictors of post-stroke mood disorders: A meta-analysis and meta-regression of depression, anxiety and adjustment disorder. Gen Hosp Psychiatry. 2017; 47: 48–60.

3. Baker C, Worrall L, Rose M, Hudson K, Ryan B, O’Byrne L. A systematic review of rehabilitation interventions to prevent and treat depression in post-stroke aphasia. 2017: 1464–5165.

4. Russkikh OA, Chumakova UO, Smirnova EA, Perevochshikov PV, Syromiatnikova LI. The relationship of speech disorders with anxiety and depression in post-stroke patients and possibilities of neuropsychological rehabilitation. Chelovek. Iskusstvo. Vselennaya, 2018; 1: 267–271. (In Russ).

5. Camara E. Virtual reality: applications in medicine and psychiatry. Hawaii Med J. 1993; 52(12): 332–333.

6. Karpov OE, Daminov VD, Novak EV, Mychametova DA, Slepnyova NI. Virtual reality technologies in medical rehabilitation as an example of modern health informatization. Bulletin of Pirogov National Medical & Surgical Center. 2020; 15(1): 89–98. (In Russ).

7. Freeman D, Reeve S, Robinson A, Ethlers A, Clark D, Spanlang B, Slater M. Virtual reality in the assessment, understanding, and treatment of mental health disorders. Psychological Medicine. 2017; 47: 1–8.

8. Daminov VD, Gorochova IG, Daminov MV, Novak EV, Slepnyova NI. Primenenie sistemy tekhnologij virtual’noj real’nosti v klinicheskoj reabilitacii. M.: Maska; 2020 (In Russ).

9. Kontou E, Thomas S, Lincoln N. Psychometric properties of a revised version of the Visual Analog Mood Scales. 2012; 26(12): 1133–1140.

10. EuroQol Research Foundation. EQ-5D-5L User Guide. 2019. [URL] Accessed Dec 12, 2020.

11. Akulova AI, Gaydukova IZ, Rebrov AP. Validation of the EQ-5D-5L version in Rusia. Rheumatology Science and Practice. 2018; 56(3): 351–355. (In Russ.)

12. Newson J, Thiagarajan T. EEG Frequency Bands in Psychiatric Disorders: A Review of Resting State Studies. 2019; 12: 521.

13. Gaur S, Panjwani U, Kumar B. EEG Brain Wave Dynamics: A Systematic Review and Meta Analysis on Effect of Yoga on Mind Relaxation. J Biomed Res Environ Sci. 2020; 1(7): 353–362.

For citation

Karpov O.E., Daminov V.D., Novak E.V., Slepnyova N.I. The impact of virtual reality on the emotional state of patients with aphasia. Bulletin of Pirogov National Medical & Surgical Center. 2021;1(16):67-73. (In Russ.) https://doi.org/10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.55.99.012

DOI: 10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.55.99.012

Авторы

Карпов О.Э., Даминов В.Д., Новак Э.В., Слепнева Н.И.

ФГБУ «Национальный медико-хирургический Центр им. Н.И. Пирогова», Москва

Аннотация

Обоснование: Афазия, как причина нарушений не только вербального, но и невербального общения, совместно с другими проявлениями инсульта приводит к развитию эмоциональных расстройств у данной категории пациентов. Большинство традиционных психологическим методик требует лингвистического взаимодействия.

Цель: Оценить субъективные и объективные изменения в психоэмоциональном состоянии пациентов с афазиями после погружения в расслабляющую виртуальную реальность (ВР).

Методы: Всего 40 пациентов в 1-й год после инсульта было рандомизировано в основную и контрольную группы с последующей повторной оценкой настроения по визуальной аналоговой шкале (ВАШ) и записью электроэнцефалограммы (ЭЭГ) в начале исследования, после 5-минутного отдыха и после вмешательства. Основная группа погружалась в расслабляющую ВР на 20 минут, контрольная посещала традиционное занятие с психологом.

Результаты: По демографическим показателям пациенты обеих групп статистически не отличались. При сравнении оценки настроения по ВАШ (p<0,042) отмечалось улучшение в обеих группах. При анализе ЭЭГ абсолютная спектральная мощность альфа- (p = 0,003) и низкочастотного бета-ритма (p = 0,004) нарастала в обеих группах с незначительным преобладанием в основной группе. Обе группы также показывали прирост в относительной мощности низкочастотного альфа-ритма (относительно общей мощности) (p = 0,031) и снижение мощности подгрупп бета-ритмов (относительно альфа-ритма). Статистически значимо отмечалось увеличение относительной мощности низкочастотного бета-ритма (относительно высокочастотного) в группе с ВР (р = 0,005) при сравнении с контрольной.

Обсуждение: Изменения биоэлектрической активности головного мозга во время погружения в расслабляющую ВР указывают на объективное снижение уровня стресса у пациентов с афазиями, со статистически значимым замедлением бета-ритма при сравнении с контрольной группой.

Ключевые слова: виртуальная реальность, электроэнцефалография, депрессия, афазия, стресс.

Список литературы

1. Ashaie S, Hurwitz R, Cherney L. Depression and Subthreshold Depression in Stroke-Related Aphasia. Arch Phys Med Rehabil. 2019; 7:1294–1299.

2. Mitchell A, Sheth B, Gill J, Yadegarfar M, Stubbs B, Yadegarfar M, Meader N. Prevalence and predictors of post-stroke mood disorders: A meta-analysis and meta-regression of depression, anxiety and adjustment disorder. Gen Hosp Psychiatry. 2017; 47: 48–60.

3. Baker C, Worrall L, Rose M, Hudson K, Ryan B, O’Byrne L. A systematic review of rehabilitation interventions to prevent and treat depression in post-stroke aphasia. 2017: 1464–5165.

4. Русских О.А., Чумакова У.О., Смирнова Е.А., Перевощиков П.В., Сыромятникова Л.И. Взаимосвязь речевых нарушений с тревогой и депрессией у постинсультных пациентов и возможности нейропсихологической реабилитации // Человек. Искусство. Вселенная. — 2018. — №1. — С. 267–271.

5. Camara E. Virtual reality: applications in medicine and psychiatry. Hawaii Med J. 1993; 52(12): 332–333.

6. Карпов О.Э., Даминов В.Д., Новак Э.В., Мухаметова Д.А., Слепнева Н.И. Технологии виртуальной реальности в медицинской реабилитации, как пример современной информатизации здравоохранения // Вестник Национального медико-хирургического центра им. Н.И. Пирогова. — 2020. — Т.15. — №1. — С.89–98.

7. Freeman D, Reeve S, Robinson A, Ethlers A, Clark D, Spanlang B, Slater M. Virtual reality in the assessment, understanding, and treatment of mental health disorders. Psychological Medicine. 2017; 47: 1–8.

8. Даминов В.Д., Горохова И.Г., Даминов М.В., Новак Э.В., Слепнева Н.И. Применение системы технологий виртуальной реальности в клинической реабилитации. — М.: Маска, 2020.

9. Kontou E, Thomas S, Lincoln N. Psychometric properties of a revised version of the Visual Analog Mood Scales. 2012; 26(12): 1133–1140.

10. EuroQol Research Foundation. EQ-5D-5L User Guide. 2019. [URL] Accessed Dec 12, 2020.

11. Акулова А.И., Гайдукова И.З., Ребров А.П. Валидация версии 5L опросника EQ-5D в России // Научно-практическая ревматология. — 2018. — Т.56. — №3. — С.351–355.

12. Newson J, Thiagarajan T. EEG Frequency Bands in Psychiatric Disorders: A Review of Resting State Studies. 2019; 12: 521.

13. Gaur S, Panjwani U, Kumar B. EEG Brain Wave Dynamics: A Systematic Review and Meta Analysis on Effect of Yoga on Mind Relaxation. J Biomed Res Environ Sci. 2020; 1(7): 353–362.

Для цитирования

Карпов О.Э., Даминов В.Д., Новак Э.В., Слепнева Н.И. Воздействие технологий виртуальной реальности на психоэмоциональное состояние пациентов с афазиями. Вестник НМХЦ им. Н.И. Пирогова. 2021;1(16):67-73. https://doi.org/10.25881/BPNMSC.2021.55.99.012