DOI: 10.25881/BPNMSC.2020.12.99.009

Authors

Zemlyanoj A.B.1, Zelenina T.A.2, Saluhov V.V.2

1 Pirogov National Medical and Surgical Center, Moscow

2 S.M. Kirov Military Medical Academy, Saint Petersburg

Abstract

Aim of the study: to compare the prevalence and specific characteristics of the severe diabetic foot infection pathogens during the inpatient and outpatient stages of treatment.

Materials and methods. We included 62 type 2 diabetic inpatients (group 1) (38 male and 24 female) with severe foot infection in to the study. 102 diabetic foot outpatients (group 2) (56 male and 46 female) with postoperative wounds, who had been operated on and discharged from the hospital, were included in to the study too.

The complex of clinical and laboratory-instrumental examinations and treatment of the postoperative wounds according to the international standards were performed. Cultures were obtained after surgery interventions immediately and on 14 days of hospitalization in group 1 of patients and in group 2 of patients with clinical signs of infection. Microbe species and resistant of pathogens to antibiotic were assessed.

Results. Severe infection connected with polymicrobe pathogens in both groups of patients. However, the prevalence of Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacilli was different. The most frequently isolated pathogens were Gram-positive bacteria in the wound samples of group 1 of patients with acute infection obtained after surgery interventions immediately. In the wound cultures of group 1 on 14 day of hospitalization and group 2 the prevalence of Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacilli was the same. The role of Enterobacteriaceae increased with duration of infection. The prevalence of multidrug resistant Enterobacteriaceae makes this group of microorganisms as important as Staphylococcaceae in the complicated course of the infectious process. It should be noted that there is still a high total frequency of isolation of non-fermenting Gram-negative bacilli among Gram-negative pathogens in complicated diabetic foot infection both at the inpatient and outpatient stages of treatment.

Conclusion. The microbial load characterized by the presence of Gram-positive and Gram-negative pathogens after surgical debridement of acute infection at the inpatient stage of treatment. However, Grame-positive microorganisms predominated significantly (Staphylococcus aureus). The great finding of the study is the identification of a parallel of the same prevalence of Gram-positive and Gram-negative pathogens in a prolonged infection at the inpatient and outpatient stages of treatment.

Polyvalent microbial spectrum of pathogens significantly reduces the effectiveness of treatment.

Keywords: diabetes mellitus, diabetic foot syndrome, multidrug resistant microorganisms, postoperative wounds healing.

References

1. Animaw W, Seyoum Y. Increasing prevalence of diabetes mellitus in a developing country and its related factors. PLoS One. 2017; 12(11): e0187670. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0187670.

2. Singh N, Armstrong DG, Lipsky BA Preventing foot ulcers in patients with diabetes. JAMA 2005, 293: 217–228.

3. Boulton AJM, Armstrong DG, Kirsner RS, et al. Diagnosis and Management of Diabetic Foot Complications. Arlington, Va., American Diabetes Association, 2018, Р.20.

4. Lipsky, BA, Senneville, É, Abbas, ZG, et al. Guidelines on the diagnosis and treatment of foot infection in persons with diabetes (IWGDF 2019 update). Diabetes Metab Res Rev. 2020; 36(S1): e3280. doi:org/10.1002/dmrr.3280.

5. Ndosi M, Wright-Hughes A, Brown S. Prognosis of the infected diabetic foot ulcer: a 12-month prospective observational study Diabet. Med. 2018; (35): 78–88.

6. Weledji EP, Fokam P. Treatment of the diabetic foot — to amputate or not? BMC Surg. 2014; 14: 83. doi:10.1186/1471-2482-14-83.

7. Quilici MT, Del Fiol Fde S, Vieira AE, Toledo MI. Risk Factors for Foot Amputation in Patients Hospitalized for Diabetic Foot Infection. J Diabetes Res. 2016: 8931508. doi:10.1155/2016/8931508.

8. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Diabetes Statistics Report: Estimates of Diabetes and Its Burden in the United States, 2014, Atlanta, GA: US Department of Health and Human Services; 2014. URL.

9. Murphy-Lavoie HM, Ramsey A, Nguyen M, et al. Diabetic Foot Infections. [Updated 2020 Jul 10]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2020 Jan.

10. Fortington LV, Geertzen JHB, van Netten JJ. Short and Long Term Mortality Rates after a Lower Limb Amputation European Journal of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery. 2013; 46 (1): 124–13.

11. Gardner SE, Hillis SL, Heilmann K, Segre JA, Grice EA. The neuropathic diabetic foot ulcer microbiome is associated with clinical factors. Diabetes. 2013; 62: 923–930.

12. Ramakant P, Verma AK, Misra R et al. Changing microbiological profile of pathogenic bacteria in diabetic foot infections: time for a rethink on which empirical therapy to choose? Diabetologia. 2011; 54: 58–64.

13. Bader M, Jafri AK, Krueger T, Kumar V. Fusarium osteomyelitis of the foot in a patient with diabetes mellitus. Scand J Infect Dis. 2003; 35: 895–896.

14. Boyanova L, Mitov I. Antibiotic resistance rates in causative agents of infections in diabetic patients: rising concerns. Expert Rev Anti Infect Ther. 2013; 11: 411–420.

15. Ozer B, Kalaci A, Semerci E, Duran N, Davul S, Yanat AN. Infections and aerobic bacterial pathogens in diabetic foot. Afr J Microbiol Res. 2010; 4: 2153–2160.

16. Djahmi N, Messad N, Nedjai S, et al. Molecular epidemiology of Staphylococcus aureus strains isolated from inpatients with infected diabetic foot ulcers in an Algerian University Hospital. Clin Microbiol Infect. 2013; 19: E398–404. 46.

17. Byren I, Peters EJ, Hoey C, Berendt A, Lipsky BA. Pharmacotherapy of diabetic foot osteomyelitis. Expert Opin Pharmacother. 2009; 10:3033–3047.

For citation

Zemlyanoj A.B., Zelenina T.A., Saluhov V.V. Parallels of the features of diabetic foot syndromeinfections at the inpatient and outpatient stages of treatment. Bulletin of Pirogov National Medical & Surgical Center. 2020;4(15):45-51. (In Russ.) https://doi.org/10.25881/BPNMSC.2020.12.99.009

DOI: 10.25881/BPNMSC.2020.12.99.009

Авторы

Земляной А.Б.1, Зеленина Т.А.2, Салухов В.В.2

1 ФГБУ «Национальный медико-хирургический Центр им. Н.И. Пирогова», Москва

2 ФГБВОУ ВО Военно-медицинская академия им. С.М. Кирова, Санкт-Петербург

Аннотация

Цель исследования: сравнить частоту встречаемости и видовые особенности микрофлоры у больных гнойно-некротическими формами синдрома диабетической стопы (СДС) на стационарном и амбулаторном этапах лечения.

Материалы и методы. В исследование включены 62 больных сахарным диабетом (СД) 2 типа (группа 1) (38 мужчин и 24 женщины) с гнойно-некротическими поражениями нижних конечностей, находившихся на стационарном лечении в ГКБ №14 (г. Санкт-Петербург). Также 102 больных (группа 2) (56 мужчин и 46 женщин) проходивших амбулаторное лечение в связи с наличием послеоперационных ран, выписанных из хирургического стационара ГКБ № 14 сутки оперативного лечения по поводу гнойно-некротических форм СДС.

Выполнены комплексное клиническое и лабораторно-инструментальное обследование, лечение послеоперационных ран по международным стандартам. Пациентам группы 1 биопсия послеоперационных ран с последующим определением видового состава возбудителей и чувствительности к антибактериальным препаратам выполнялись сразу после операции на 14 день пребывания в стационаре, в группе 2 микробиологическое обследование проводили только в случаях клинических признаков воспаления.

Результаты. Тяжелый инфекционный процесс в обеих группах был сопряжен в большей части с ассоциациями микроорганизмов. Различия отмечены в соотношениях Гр (+) и Гр (-) микроорганизмов. У пациентов с острым инфекционным процессом в начале стационарного лечения (1 группа) преобладали Гр (+) микроорганизмы, тогда как на 14 день стационарного лечения и при хроническом инфекционном процессе (2 группа) соотношения между Гр (+) и Гр (-) микроорганизмами были равными. Отмечена возрастающая этиологическая значимость энтеробактерий в обеих исследуемых группах пациентов с увеличением продолжительности инфекционного процесса. Высокая частота выделения Enterobacteriaceae с расширяющимся спектром устойчивости к антимикробной терапии делает эту группу микроорганизмов столь же значимой, как и Staphylococcaceae, в осложненном течении инфекционного процесса у больных СДС. Следует отметить сохраняющуюся высокую суммарную частоту выделения неферментирующих грамотрицательных микроорганизмов среди Гр (-) бактерий при инфекционных осложнениях СДС как на стационарном, так и на амбулаторном этапах лечения.

Заключение. В инфекционном очаге при СДС обнаруживаются бактериальные агенты как в монокультуре, так и в ассоциации аэробных микроорганизмов. На стационарном этапе лечения, после хирургической обработки первичного острого гнойного очага микробный пейзаж характеризовался присутствием грамположительных (Гр (+)) и грамотрицательных микроорганизмов (Гр (-)). Однако, Гр (+) микроорганизмы существенно преобладали (Staphylococcus aureus). Важным результатом исследования является выявление параллели равной частоты встречаемости (Гр (+)) и грамотрицательных микроорганизмов (Гр (-)) при продолжительном некупированном инфекционном процессе, входе стационарного и амбулаторного этапов лечения.

Участие в инфекционном процессе поливалентного микробного спектра возбудителей существенным образом снижает эффективность лечения.

Ключевые слова: сахарный диабет, синдром диабетической стопы, полирезистентные микроорганизмы, заживление послеоперационных ран.

Список литературы

1. Animaw W, Seyoum Y. Increasing prevalence of diabetes mellitus in a developing country and its related factors. PLoS One. 2017; 12(11): e0187670. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0187670.

2. Singh N, Armstrong DG, Lipsky BA Preventing foot ulcers in patients with diabetes. JAMA 2005, 293: 217–228.

3. Boulton AJM, Armstrong DG, Kirsner RS, et al. Diagnosis and Management of Diabetic Foot Complications. Arlington, Va., American Diabetes Association, 2018, Р.20.

4. Lipsky, BA, Senneville, É, Abbas, ZG, et al. Guidelines on the diagnosis and treatment of foot infection in persons with diabetes (IWGDF 2019 update). Diabetes Metab Res Rev. 2020; 36(S1): e3280. doi:org/10.1002/dmrr.3280.

5. Ndosi M, Wright-Hughes A, Brown S. Prognosis of the infected diabetic foot ulcer: a 12-month prospective observational study Diabet. Med. 2018; (35): 78–88.

6. Weledji EP, Fokam P. Treatment of the diabetic foot — to amputate or not? BMC Surg. 2014; 14: 83. doi:10.1186/1471-2482-14-83.

7. Quilici MT, Del Fiol Fde S, Vieira AE, Toledo MI. Risk Factors for Foot Amputation in Patients Hospitalized for Diabetic Foot Infection. J Diabetes Res. 2016: 8931508. doi:10.1155/2016/8931508.

8. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Diabetes Statistics Report: Estimates of Diabetes and Its Burden in the United States, 2014, Atlanta, GA: US Department of Health and Human Services; 2014. URL.

9. Murphy-Lavoie HM, Ramsey A, Nguyen M, et al. Diabetic Foot Infections. [Updated 2020 Jul 10]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2020 Jan.

10. Fortington LV, Geertzen JHB, van Netten JJ. Short and Long Term Mortality Rates after a Lower Limb Amputation European Journal of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery. 2013; 46 (1): 124–13.

11. Gardner SE, Hillis SL, Heilmann K, Segre JA, Grice EA. The neuropathic diabetic foot ulcer microbiome is associated with clinical factors. Diabetes. 2013; 62: 923–930.

12. Ramakant P, Verma AK, Misra R et al. Changing microbiological profile of pathogenic bacteria in diabetic foot infections: time for a rethink on which empirical therapy to choose? Diabetologia. 2011; 54: 58–64.

13. Bader M, Jafri AK, Krueger T, Kumar V. Fusarium osteomyelitis of the foot in a patient with diabetes mellitus. Scand J Infect Dis. 2003; 35: 895–896.

14. Boyanova L, Mitov I. Antibiotic resistance rates in causative agents of infections in diabetic patients: rising concerns. Expert Rev Anti Infect Ther. 2013; 11: 411–420.

15. Ozer B, Kalaci A, Semerci E, Duran N, Davul S, Yanat AN. Infections and aerobic bacterial pathogens in diabetic foot. Afr J Microbiol Res. 2010; 4: 2153–2160.

16. Djahmi N, Messad N, Nedjai S, et al. Molecular epidemiology of Staphylococcus aureus strains isolated from inpatients with infected diabetic foot ulcers in an Algerian University Hospital. Clin Microbiol Infect. 2013; 19: E398–404. 46.

17. Byren I, Peters EJ, Hoey C, Berendt A, Lipsky BA. Pharmacotherapy of diabetic foot osteomyelitis. Expert Opin Pharmacother. 2009; 10:3033–3047.

Для цитирования

Земляной А.Б., Зеленина Т.А., Салухов В.В. Параллели особенностей инфекций синдрома диабетической стопы на стационарном и амбулаторном этапах лечения. Вестник НМХЦ им. Н.И. Пирогова. 2020;4(15):45-51. https://doi.org/10.25881/BPNMSC.2020.12.99.009